Diss Town Council is the first tier of local government for Diss. We represent the community of Diss, and welcome your views on our historic market town. You can contact us via telephone, e-mail, or pop into the offices and say hello.

Click here for our contact details and opening times, or read on to find out more about what we do.


    Our Vision
    To make Diss a successful, vibrant, attractive town, where people want to live, work and visit.

    Our Mission
    To support the community and promote Diss as the heart of East Anglia for Business, Leisure and the Arts

    Our Values
    We will:
    – Be an advocate and campaigning voice for the people of Diss
    – Work to the highest standards of integrity and openness and deliver services to the best of our abilities
    – Work in partnership with other organisations to improve services and deliver value for money
    – Be accountable and honour our responsibilities
    – Be inclusive and supportive of the whole community


    We represent the community! We listen to residents and do our best to work with others to find solutions to issues in the town. We also put forward the views of the community to other organisations such as Norfolk County Council, South Norfolk Council, the Police, the local MP… the list goes on! We liaise with these organisations to improve services in Diss and make your opinions heard.

    We also support local groups by providing community funding and promotion for as many as we can. We provide recreation spaces and amenities for the town, such as the markets, sports facility, community centre and cemetery.

    Of course, we can’t always solve everything. But part of our job is to hold other organisations and authorities to account for services provided (or not, in some cases). We liaise with these organisations to find a better solution, working together to solve problems.


    The Town Council is made up of 13 elected councillors and has three committees, and three sub-committees. Councillors are all volunteers from the community who care about Diss and making it the best place it can be!

    You can view our councillors and their contact details on our Meet the Team page.


    As well as councillors, the Council employs twelve staff across the administrative and maintenance teams, led by the Town Clerk Sarah Richards. As the Proper Officer of the Council, the Clerk is responsible for ensuring that the instructions of the Council are carried out. The Clerk also advises the Council on the formation of policies, ensures effective decision making and provides strategic direction.

    The Council is led by the Town Mayor & Council Leader who are elected each year at the Annual Meeting of Council in May. The Town Mayor chairs Full Council meetings and attends civic engagements and other functions as the Council’s representative. If you would like the Mayor to attend an event, please send an invitation to the Town Council Offices, here.

    The Council Leader is responsible for delivering on the Strategy Plan. They work closely with the Town Clerk on a day-to-day basis to help ensure the smooth running of the Council.

    Click here to view our Staff Structure


    Of course! Decisions that councillors make often affect the lives of those working and living in the town, so as a Council, we have to make sure all decision making is transparent and accountable. All Council meetings are open to the public, with an opportunity for you to discuss items on the agenda.

    You will be able to view the agenda at least three clear days before the meeting is held. Check the committees and meetings page to find out more about the different committees, and find out when they meet.


    To become a councillor, you must be elected or co-opted. Our next election will be in 2023, though we do currently have 3 vacancies available for co-option. If you’re over 18, a citizen of the UK, EU or Commonwealth, live in or work within three miles of Diss and have a commitment to doing what’s best for the town, get in touch.

    To find out more about the role of Town councillor, click here.